Tulay Atay-Avsar on Mary Mead

“A small group of thoughtful people could change the world. Indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” Margaret Mead.

Image

This quotation which I believe to describe myself. I met MM during my master thesis writing process on anthropology. She seemed to me a very strong women and a hard working one. There are in fact many women thinkers in my life… Both Turkish and other nationalities… Both famous and not famous… The mother (Sebahat) of a good college friend of mine, she is a star… She has no education however she is a great philosopher… Whenever I got fight with my parents I remember myself crying on her shoulder… My daughter (12yrs), Daphne is also a great thinker… I feel that she will be one of those strong women in the Turkish society… She wants to be the first female Turkish astronaut in the world…

Leave a Reply

